2017 Hall of Fame Inductees

10 School Safety Patrollers Selected for the 2017 AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame

On May 20, 2017, 10 outstanding school safety patrollers were inducted into the 2017 AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame. Students were recognized for their dedication to safety, community stewardship, leadership in their school’s AAA Safety Patrol program and the motivation to help keep students and parents safe as they walk or ride their bikes to and from school.

For going above and beyond the call, these patrollers were recognized at an evening awards ceremony held before a Seattle Mariners game at Safeco Field on May 20th.

For more than 25 years, AAA Washington and a panel of judges from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction and the Washington Traffic Safety Commission select top patrollers from elementary schools in Washington each year and honor their accomplishments through induction in the AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame.

Patrollers are evaluated and judged on their commitment to traffic safety, citizenship, leadership skills, and contributions to school safety patrol programs. Nominations require input from both the patroller and their advisor, including responses to a series of essay questions.

2017 AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Peter Fleisher, Frantz Coe Elementary, Seattle
  • Shane Haslett, Logan Elementary, Spokane
  • Ally McCarty, Poulsbo Elementary, Poulsbo
  • Journey Mohn, Columbia Valley Elementary, Vancouver
  • Maddison Morgan, Olympic Elementary, Longview
  • Sarah Parker, Cascade Ridge Elementary, Sammamish
  • Ashleigh Swartz, Ritzville Grade School, Ritzville
  • Britta Thomas, Highland Terrace Elementary, Shoreline
  • Carly VanGiesen, Broad View Elementary, Oak Harbor
  • Ashlyn Van Gorkom, Horace Mann Elementary, Redmond

​AAA School Safety Patrol Advisor of the Year

Irma Guerrero-Kusmirek from Tukwila Elementary was recognized as the 2017 AAA School Safety Patrol Advisor of the Year as part of the annual AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame celebration. The advisor is critical to the success of their school’s Safety Patrol Program and this award recognizes them for their years of dedicated service to the children, the school and the community.

AAA created the School Safety Patrol more than 90 years ago and partners with local agencies to bring the program to elementary schools across Washington. The safety patrol has been credited with being a major contributor to the substantial reduction in traffic related fatalities of school age children (ages 5-14).

AAA logo
For more than a century, AAA Washington has worked to improve roadway safety for drivers, passengers, bicyclists and pedestrians through traffic safety education and programs in the communities we serve.

Driving on Ice and Snow

Driving on Ice and Snow

Driving in winter weather can be challenging, but with a little preparation and education, you can arrive at your destination safely.

If Your Vehicle Breaks Down

If Your Vehicle Breaks Down

You can do many things to be a safe driver, but it’s almost inevitable that at some point you’ll have trouble with your vehicle.

We are here to help. Talk with a trusted insurance adviser today.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This